Driver License Renewal
FOR ASSISTANCE WITH TESTING OR OUT-OF-STATE LICENSE TRANSFERS OR LICENSE ENDORSEMENT CHANGES OR STAR ID CONTACT THE ATHENS ALEA STATE OFFICE AT (256) 233-4152 OR THE DECATUR ALEA OFFICE AT (256) 351-4665.
FOR ASSISTANCE WITH ALABAMA DRIVER LICENSE RENEWAL OR ID RENEWAL OR REPLACEMENT LICENSES CONTACT THE LICENSE COMMISSIONER’S OFFICE AT (256) 233-6430.
All laws and regulations related to an Alabama driver license and non driver identification cards are administered by the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency (ALEA), Driver License Unit. To view State Driver License office locations and operating hours (click here). In Limestone County, the representative of the State ALEA Athens office is the driver license examiner located on the first floor Clinton Street Courthouse Annex at 100 South Clinton Street. Currently there is one examiner assigned to the Athens location. For office hours and services offered you may wish to call at (256) 233-4152. If the driver license examiner is unavailable due to testing or if you wish to inquire with supervision of the Athens office, you may call the State ALEA Decatur office at (256) 351-4665.
If you are applying for a new driver license, a learner’s license, a new ID card, a motorcycle operator license, or boat operator’s license, then you will test with the State ALEA driver license examiner. If you are transferring an out-of-state driver license to an Alabama driver license or changing endorsements or restrictions to your current Alabama license, then you also must receive approval from the State ALEA driver license examiner. Supporting document requirements and restrictions for new licenses and identification cards are approved by the ALEA Driver License Unit.
Effective February 9, 2015 the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency, Driver License Unit increased driver license and non-driver identification fees by $12.75 to $36.25. The fee to transfer a valid out of state driver license is $41.25.
Beginning May 1, 2013, Alabama veterans may have the option of displaying proof of military service on their driver license issued by the State ALEA offices. Beginning August 29, 2017 the Veteran designation may be added by the county licensing offices.
In 2012, Alabama Law Enforcement Agency, Driver License Unit, developed the STAR ID program to comply with the federal requirements of the REAL-ID Act of 2005. Once the provision of the REAL-ID goes into effect on October 1, 2020, a state issued ID card or driver license must be the enhanced STAR ID to board commercial aircraft for domestic flights or to enter certain regulated federal facilities. Otherwise an alternate identification document must be presented such as U.S. passport or U.S. military identification card. STAR ID is available to qualified individuals at any ALEA state office. The first time issuance of a STAR ID is not available in county offices. Upgrading to the STAR ID is not mandatory for Alabama residents to drive or to operate a motor vehicle. See a list of frequently asked questions for the public from Homeland Security and view more information about the Alabama STAR ID program.
In 2008, the Alabama Driver License Unit began a program to allow the scheduling of the road skills test in Huntsville at their state office at 1115-A Church Street. If you would like to schedule by phone, their number is (256) 539-0682. In 2014 online scheduling was added for the Decatur office and their phone number is (256) 351-4665. If you wish to schedule online, then click here for the ALEA website link.
In 2007, the Department added a new office serving on Wednesday only for military and service personnel at Redstone Arsenal. For office hours and services offered you may wish to call at (256) 539-0681.
The written examination and authorization fee is $5.00 per test. The driver license card issuance fee is $36.25. The ALEA state office accepts cash and bankcards only.
To renew your existing Alabama driver license or to apply for duplicate license that is lost, you may apply in the License Commissioner’s office. The fee for the replacement license is $31.25. To renew the Class D driver license, the fee is $36.25 and your expiration date is extended by four years. A new or renewal fee of the Class A commercial driver license is $66.25.
Alabama Law allows an additional sixty (60) days to operate your vehicle beyond the listed expiration date on your Alabama license card without citation. It is recommended that you renew your driver license before attempting to board a commercial flight or drive out-of-state, since most officials will not be aware of the sixty (60) day grace period. A driver may renew their license card at any county licensing office in Alabama. Always verify your personal information for accuracy when you renew or replace your driver license.
A permanent license card will be mailed within thirty days. If you do not receive your license in 30 days, then contact the state agency at 334-242-4400.
A nonresident who has a valid driver license from the state of previous residence may drive without an Alabama license for 30 days after becoming a resident of the state.
A nonresident at least 16 years old who has in his immediate possession a valid driver license issued to him in his home state or country and is properly enrolled and registered in a school or college in this state may operate a vehicle without an Alabama driver license. Likewise, military personnel from other states and their families stationed in Alabama are not required to obtain an Alabama driver license as long as they hold a valid driver license from their home state or country.
If you would like to download the driver license manual, or learn about the documents required by the State ALEA Office for new drivers or transferring your out-of-state driver license, then visit the web site at the Drivers License Unit, Alabama Law Enforcement Agency.