Effective August 29, 2019, the process for entering into a legal marriage in the State of Alabama changed, pursuant to Alabama Act 2019-340. Under the new law, persons wishing to become married are no longer required to file an application for a marriage license with the county probate court, and the courts will no longer issue marriage licenses.
The Alabama Marriage Certificate form should now be completed by the persons entering into marriage and delivered to the probate court for recording. Once properly completed (including notary acknowledgment and seal) and timely recorded by the probate court, the marriage is legal. A wedding ceremony may be performed, but a ceremony is no longer required for a recognized marriage in Alabama.
NOTE: Pursuant to an Attorney General’s opinion issued May 18, 2022, an Alabama Marriage Certificate notarized by a notary public not authorized to notarize under the laws of the State of Alabama shall not be accepted for recording by an Alabama probate court. A Marriage Certificate form notarized by a notarizing officer of the U.S. Department of State is also not acceptable.
Please see the links below regarding the Alabama Marriage Certificate, including Instructions for Completing and Filing the document, as well as Frequently Asked Questions:
Instructions and Marriage Certificate Form (fillable) – Adults—
Instructions and Marriage Certificate From (fillable) – Minors 16-17 Years of Age—
Instructions for Amendment to Marriage Certificate and Decree of Correction
Amendment to Marriage Certificate and Decree of Correction Form (fillable)
Alabama Department of Public Health Website
The cost to file the original completed Alabama Marriage Certificate in the Limestone County Probate Court is $70.00 payable by cash, personal check, money order, or bank cashier’s check (payee: Limestone County Probate Judge). Debit cards and credit cards are not accepted.
The Limestone County Probate Court does not provide notary services for documents filed in this office, including the Alabama Marriage Certificate.
In accordance with Alabama Act 2019-340, the original completed, signed and notarized Alabama Marriage Certificate must be delivered to a probate court for recording within 30 days of the latter of the dates of the spouses’ signatures.
In accordance with Alabama Act 2019-340, if one or both of the spouses is/are under the age of 18, but at least 16 years of age, and has/have not been previously married, the consent of a parent or legal guardian for that spouse is required. The consenting parent(s) or guardian(s) must complete page 2 (Affidavit of Consent for Marriage of a Minor) of the Alabama Marriage Certificate. The completed, signed and notarized page 2 must be delivered to a probate court for recording at the same time that page 1 (Alabama Marriage Certificate) is delivered to the court.
You may request a certified copy from the Limestone County Probate Court when you deliver the original Alabama Marriage Certificate to be recorded. Certified copies are $3.00 each, payable by cash, personal check, money order, or bank cashier’s check (payee: Limestone County Probate Judge). Debit cards and credit cards are not accepted.
If you mail in your original completed, signed and notarized Alabama Marriage Certificate to the Limestone County Probate Judge (100 South Clinton Street, Suite D, Athens, Alabama 35611), include the correct filing fee ($70.00) and correct fee for any certificate copies ($3.00 each) you request. You must include a self-addressed, stamped envelope for your certified copy(ies) to be returned to you. Please do not hesitate to call if you have any questions.