County Commission
310 W. Washington Street
Athens, AL 35611
Phone: (256) 233-6400
Fax: (256) 233-6403


Chairman: Collin Daly
District One: Daryl Sammet
District Two: Danny Barksdale
District Three: Jason Black
District Four: LaDon Townsend

County Finance Manual

County Commission Staff

Ellen Morell

Administers plans to accomplish the goals and objectives set by the County Commission. Performs department operations and preparation of legislation. Supervises subordinate staff. Oversees financial transactions of the county including development of budgets.

Emily Ezzell

Maintains county’s financial records. Generates reports and financial statements. Maintain the financial reporting of grants. Implement GASB 34 accounting system. Confers and assists auditors. Ensures county system maintains compliance with accounting principals and state finance manual.

Nicole Hall
Commission Clerk

Provides reception/referral to incoming calls/customers. Prepares Agenda, Work Sessions, and Minutes,

Ramona Robinson
Accounts Payable/Purchasing Clerk

Performs purchasing and accounts payable activities, for approval.

Alicia Sanders
Human Resources

Provides human resources functions for the County Employees and is responsible for payroll, personnel reporting and ensures County compliance with human resources and personnel laws.

Lori Hargrove
Purchasing/Acct Clerk

Issues purchase orders for county departments.  Prepares daily bank deposit.  Prepares bids and monthly reports.  Completes election reports and submits to State for reimbursement.  

Sonya Anthony
Grant Coordinator

Researches new grant opportunities and evaluates the viability for their implementation in Limestone County. Independently meets the public, giving information requiring some knowledge of departmental policies and procedures.

Michelle Williamson
Director of Community Relations/Grants
Web Editor

Primarily responsible for working on comprehensive communications, community relations, and public relations programs for the promotion of Limestone County and the Limestone County Commission. Communicates information to all County Departments and the public through the Office of the Chairman. Prepares and/or distributes marketing and public relations materials, promotional materials, press releases and reports, and community relations materials. Interacts with civic organizations, community groups and associations, and media outlets.

Washington St nov 2013

The Neo-Classical Revival style building was designed by Britt Alderman of Atlanta, Georgia. The building is of stone, brick, granite, and Marble adorned with eight large columns with the cutting of the Dogwood Bloom.  The front stressing the Southern Colonial type of architecture.  After several delays not caused by the contractor the building opened its door Tuesday morning November 14, 1933 the total amount was $59,195.25. Athens’ handsome new post office building was formally dedicated with appropriate exercises at 7:30 o’clock Monday night, Congressman A. H. Carmichael being the guest of honor of the occasion.  City Attorney Edward Goodrich, representing Mayor R. H. Richardson, Jr, made formal dedication in a short address.  The dedication exercises included a memorial service to the late Congressman Ed. B. Almon on December 18, 1933.