
	
	

	
MARRIAGE	LICENSE	CHECKLIST	

	
 Marriage	Licenses	are	issued	Monday	through	Friday	between	the	hours	of	8:30	

a.m.	and	4:00	p.m.		The	issuing	process	takes	approximately	20	minutes.	
	
 A	Marriage	License	costs	$40.00	payable	by	cash,	money	order	or	check.		Debit	

cards	and	credit	cards	are	not	accepted.		NOTE:	In	accordance	with	Act	2015‐493	
passed	by	the	Alabama	Legislature,	effective	January	1,	2016	costs	will	increase	to	
$70.00.	

	
 Marriage	License	is	valid	ONLY	in	the	State	of	Alabama	within	30	days	of	the	date	it	

is	issued.	
	

 Both	parties	must	be	at	least	18	years	old	(see	Marriage	License	Information	
regarding	parental	consent	if	one	or	both	of	the	parties	is	16	or	17	years	old).	
	

 Both	parties	must	be	present	with	current	photo	identification.		Examples	include	
driver’s	license,	passport,	military	ID,	other	state	issued	ID,	U.S.	Government	issued	
ID	(including	Permanent	Resident	Card	or	Employment	Authorization	Card),	or	
other	identification	issued	by	a	state	of	the	United	States,	by	a	foreign	country	or	
state,	or	by	an	agency	or	a	subdivision	of	a	state	of	the	United	State	or	of	a	foreign	
country	or	state.	
	

 Court‐certified	copy	(with	seal)	of	final	divorce	decree	is	required	if	either	party	was	
divorced	within	the	last	6	months.	
	

 A	divorced	party	cannot	obtain	a	Marriage	License	until	61	days	after	the	divorce	
decree	is	final	(unless	the	party	is	remarrying	the	former	spouse).	

 
 No one in our office performs marriage ceremonies. 

 
 Please see the Marriage License Information on this website or call our office if you have 

additional or specific questions. 

OFFICE	of	PROBATE	JUDGE	
Charles	C.	Woodroof,	Judge	

Clinton	Street	Courthouse	Annex	
100	South	Clinton	Street	–	Suite	D	

Athens,	AL		35611	
256‐233‐6427	


